Charley says ARTIST! Discovering Kim Wilde

I have a confession to make. I am a Kim Wilde n00b.

Yes, obviously I’m familiar with ‘Kids In America’, even though I have to admit that it is the Kim-Lian cover that you’ll find in my iTunes. And yes, I remember ‘Loved‘ being all over the radio back in 2001. The chorus used to confuse me so much back then, was she singing “You are loved”, “You are love”, “I love you”? Argh! I was only about 12, 13 years old at the time, though… It wasn’t until 2003 that Kim would properly pop up on my radar. It was the year she released ‘Anyplace, Anywhere, Anytime‘. The song was a reworked and rewritten duet version of Nena’s ‘Irgendwie, Irgendwo, Irgendwann‘ for the ‘99 Red Balloons‘ singer’s new album. The song was a massive hit and today it still sounds as fresh and amazing as it did back then. Then 2006 brought us ‘You Came‘, an update on Kim’s old hit, and an album that brought her back to pop after all those years. I’m sad to say I never properly investigated it back then…

Fastforward to 2010, when news of a brand new Kim Wilde album left me reminiscing about my too few memories of the lady’s music career. Looking back on it now, Kim is one of those artist that I know I’d love if I would just get around to checking out more of her music. So that is what I did. Today I started by listening to this compilation on Grooveshark. ‘House Of Salome‘ immediately stood out, as did ‘View From A Bridge‘ and ‘You’ll Never Be So Wrong‘. And then there’s ‘Cambodia‘, the 1981 classic that people kept telling me is an incredible pop song and that only today I properly heard for the first time. I have some major catching up to do…

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

