Charley says EUROVISION! Oslo 2010 In A Tweet (1)

Together with two of my favourite Eurovision fanatics I’ll be taking a closer look at this year’s Eurovision hopefuls. Over the next week we’ll be rating every country and we’ll give our own take on it in a tweet, i.e. in 140 characters or less.

Now, let’s meet my co-judges:

MadeInHeaven: A British resident of the Popjustice forum.
Greg Baker: Our impartial American voice of reason.

Let’s start, in order of appearance, with the first 9 songs of the first semi final after the jump!

Moldova: SunStroke Project & Olia Tira – Run Away
MadeInHeaven: The musical equivalent of waking with a hangover to hear someone’s undertaking construction work next door. 3/10
Charley: Reminiscent of a watered down Finland 2009, though that includes disappointing live vocals and staging as well. 5/10
Greg: This stood out on first listen, although my uptempo bias may be swaying me here. I’m interested to see what they do for staging on this. 8/10
Total: 16/30

Russia: Peter Nalitch & Friends – Lost And Forgotten
MadeInHeaven: Takes us on a 3-minute journey from OMG  to swaying to “looking at photos” to WTF to singing along and ultimately surrendering. 7/10
Charley: This brings me visions of drunken sailors crying at a harbour pub. He has fascinating eyebrows, but what’s with the pants? 4/10
Greg: Didn’t Russia WIN two years ago? This is not the submission of a recent champ. What’s up with the talky bits? I don’t even know what to say. 0/10
Total: 11/30

Estonia: Malcolm Lincoln – Siren
MadeInHeaven: If they hold back on the clowning around around and playing it for laughs (is that even intentional, or just me?) this has a mighty hook. 6/10
Charley: An ok-ish song completely ruined by annoying moves. Seriously, why? 3/10
Greg: Did that song last three minutes or three decades? I have no idea what that was. “Give me strength to carry on” – you and me both, brother! 0/10
Total: 9/30

Slovakia: Kristina Pelakova – Horehronie
MadeInHeaven: I’m a fan of the instrumental bit where she stops singing. But alas that bit is brief and she soon starts up again. 3/10
Charley: At first I was a bit disappointed that this didn’t burst into a 2010 ‘Magical Sensation‘, but the more I hear it the more I love it. 8/10
Greg: I read that Horehronie is a popular tourist region in Slovakia? If they promise not to play this during my visit, I might consider going. 4/10
Total: 15/30

Finland: Kuunkuiskaajat – Työlki Ellää
MadeInHeaven: It’s 2 pints short of a beer festival, but I’ve had a sneaky regard for this since I first heard it. 7/10
Charley: A less singalongable ‘Ievan Polkka‘. 5/10
Greg: The less said about Finland, the better. This from the country that gave us Lordi and Hanna Pakarinen? Well, I guess someone likes it… 1/10
Total: 13/30

Latvia: Aisha – What For?
MadeInHeaven: Off-key demented vocals, comedy lyrics performed sincerely, and staging which incorporates the washing of linens. The apocalypse is here. 1/10
Charley: I’m not going to lie, bonus points for ripping of Velvet‘s dress prop. 5/10
Greg: This really says “Only Mr. God knows why”? I’ll assume “Mr. God” is something Latvian-y (and pray to Mr. God that I never hear this again). 1/10
Total: 7/30

Serbia: Milan Stanković – Ovo Je Balkan
MadeInHeaven: I don’t care what anyone says: crash helmet hair is IN. The guilty pleasure of the 2010 contest. Guaranteed 12 points from all drunk voters. 6/10
Charley: Mainly this is just confusing. Why isn’t he singing something boyband-y? A quick YouTube check shows that‘s a much better fit. 5/10
Greg: Ugh, the opening reminded me of “Kebabpizza Slivovlitza” from Melodifestivalen 2008, and now I’ve gone off the entire thing. Sorry, Serbia. 2/10
Total: 13/30

Bosnia and Herzegovina: Vukašin Brajić – Thunder And Lightning
MadeInHeaven: Bosnia & Herzegovina had become one of the most consistent countries in Eurovision, but this is comfortably their worst since 2003. 2/10
Charley: So this was the best song in their entire national final? Oh dear… 1/10
Greg: Wait, why is he talking about melting ice when the song is about thunder & lightning? It’s not called Heat Wave. Sorry, this is forgettable. 1/10
Total: 4/30

Poland: Marcin Mroziński – Legenda
MadeInHeaven: There appear to be 3 songs in this, and I only like 1 of them. A little shouty at the end. The singer’s feeling it. Alas, I’m not. 3/10
Charley: He seems like a nice enough guy. Oh wait, something about the song as well? Er… 4/10
Greg: This song is just too busy. The guy, the woman, the yelling, the drums… cut about half of it out and we might be in business. As is? No. 2/10
Total: 9/30

Today’s winner: SunStroke Project & Olia Tira – Run Away

Check back tomorrow for part 2 of Oslo 2010 In A Tweet!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

