Charley says EUROVISION! Oslo 2010 In A Tweet (2)

Together with two of my favourite Eurovision fanatics I’ll be taking a closer look at this year’s Eurovision hopefuls. Over the next week we’ll be rating every country and we’ll give our own take on it in a tweet, i.e. in 140 characters or less.

Now, let’s meet my co-judges:

MadeInHeaven: A British resident of the Popjustice forum.
Greg Baker: Our impartial American voice of reason.

Today we’ll be taking a closer look at Belgium, Malta, Albania and Greece!

Belgium: Tom Dice – Me And My Guitar
MadeInHeaven: I really hope he holds his nerve, because it’s a tough, delicate track to perform on that big stage in that atmosphere. Great entry though. 9/10
Charley: I went from doubtful, over cautiously optimistic to full on wanting this to be the 1st ever Belgian qualifier. I’ve jinxed it now, haven’t I? 10/10
Greg: It’s fine, but it’s a shame he couldn’t enter ‘Bleeding Love‘. I love how he pronounces “Gui-Tar” in the chorus. And he namechecks himself! 7/10
Total: 26/30

Malta: Thea Garrett – My Dream
MadeInHeaven: The birth of the winged creature is a moment of epic hilarity, but it’s a farily limp aspirational ballad. 5/10
Charley: Basically this is ‘My Time‘, but not sung by Jade Ewen and not written by Andrew Lloyd Webber. And to think Malta wants to win so badly… 5/10
Greg: Am I wrong or does Malta pretty much send the exact same song every year? Thea, is your dream to come in 15th? Because that’s my prediction. 2/10
Total: 12/30

Albania: Juliana Pasha – It’s All About You
MadeInHeaven: Needs a decent stage performance, but there’s a whiff of ‘contender’ about this. A key change wouldn’t have killed them though. 7/10
Charley: Albania seems to have this habit of starting with a 7 minute orchestral song, but turning it into a stomper for the actual contest. Well done. 7/10
Greg: Some days I’m a super… oh, sorry, don’t mind me. This is pleasant enough, but I don’t really have a strong reaction one way or the other. 5/10
Total: 19/30

Greece: Gioros Alkaios & Friends – Opa
MadeInHeaven: I dismissed this at first, but now think it’ll go big in the hall and clock up votes. It’s catchy enough to get broad voting support. 6/10
Charley: SHOULD HAVE BEEN KATERINE AVGOUSTAKIS. Still a proper tune though. 9/10
Greg: I tend to love Greek entries on principle, and this certainly is OK, but I think it goes without saying that this should have been Katerine. 6/10
Total: 21/30

Today’s winner: Belgium: Tom Dice – Me And My Guitar

Check back tomorrow for part 3 of Oslo 2010 In A Tweet!

Previous parts: https://charleysayspop.wordpress.com/?s=oslo+2010+in+a+tweet

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Charley says EUROVISION! Oslo 2010 In A Tweet (2)”

  1. Papa Coupon Says:

    Euro vision contest certainly does look as if to be becoming much better quality over the past few years. It used to be all corny music that I couldn’t take serious. But there is a lot of excellent singers this time.

Leave a Reply

