Charley says EUROVISION! Oslo 2010 In A Tweet (4)

Together with two of my favourite Eurovision fanatics I’ll be taking a closer look at this year’s Eurovision hopefuls. Over the next week we’ll be rating every country and we’ll give our own take on it in a tweet, i.e. in 140 characters or less.

Now, let’s meet my co-judges:

MadeInHeaven: A British resident of the Popjustice forum.
Greg Baker: Our impartial American voice of reason.

Today we’ll be taking a closer look at Lithuania, Armenia, Israel and Denmark!

Lithuania: InCulto – Eastern European Funk
MadeInHeaven: It’s dreadful, obviously. But with a few drinks down me I will probably be up and dancing to their Eastern European Funk. 5/10
Charley: I mean, they do take off their pants, but as far gimmick songs go they’re no LT United. 3/10
Greg: The first time I heard this, I changed it after the first 15 seconds. Forcing myself to listen to all 3 minutes, I was right the first time. 1/10
Total: 9/30

Armenia: Eva Rivas – Apricot Stone
MadeInHeaven: Nice, gently lilting number with a decent hook that’ll elicit laughs aplenty. And why on earth would anyone NOT sing about an apricot stone? 6/10
Charley: One of those songs I know arent the best in the competition, but that I absolutely love regardless. 8/10
Greg: So apparently the apricot stone is the symbol of Armenia. Well, isn’t that special. Too bad this song (controversy or not) isn’t as special. 3/10
Total: 17/30

Israel: Harel Skaat – Milim
MadeInHeaven: It doesn’t completely do it for me, but ignore it at your peril. With a confident vocal I can see this getting votes across the board. 6/10
Charley: I’ve mentioned before how I love Harel Skaat as a popstar. I have to admit this isn’t as incredibly amazing as I’d hoped, but it’s still nice. 7/10
Greg: My mother always said to me that if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.” I’ll heed her advice for this one. 1/10
Total: 14/30

Denmark: Chanée & N’evergreen – In A Moment Like This
MadeInHeaven: It’s utter cheese, but irresistably delivered. Wouldn’t sound out of place as a past – or even a present-day – winner. 10/10
Charley: They better nail the live vocals on the night because this is the most instant Eurovision winner in quite some time! 10/10
Greg: My winner from the first time I heard it. Lord Thomas of G:son does it again! Can’t believe Melodifestivalen rejected this. Copenhagen 2011? 10/10
Total: 30/30

Today’s winner: Denmark: Chanée & N’evergreen – In A Moment Like This

Check back tomorrow for part 5 of Oslo 2010 In A Tweet!

Previous parts: https://charleysayspop.wordpress.com/?s=oslo+2010+in+a+tweet

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

