Charley says EUROVISION! Oslo 2010 In A Tweet (5)

Together with two of my favourite Eurovision fanatics I’ll be taking a closer look at this year’s Eurovision hopefuls. Over the next week we’ll be rating every country and we’ll give our own take on it in a tweet, i.e. in 140 characters or less.

Now, let’s meet my co-judges:

MadeInHeaven: A British resident of the Popjustice forum.
Greg Baker: Our impartial American voice of reason.

Today we’ll be taking a closer look at Switzerland, Sweden, Azerbaijan and Ukraine!

Switzerland: Michael von der Heide – Il Pleut De L’Or
MadeInHeaven: I feel for Switzerland and hope they finally qualify again. A hypnotic pop stomper which gets better with each listen. 9/10
Charley: The guy’s slightly unnerving, but this is actually a pretty solid Eurovision entry. Should qualify, but I wonder how it’ll fare in the final. 7/10
Greg: I can’t help but sing ‘Det Gör Ont‘ over certain parts of this. Now, I’m thinking about Lena PH, so bravo Switzerland for distracting me. 2/10
Total: 18/30

Sweden: Anna Bergendahl – This Is My Life
MadeInHeaven: Putting aside the superior songs Sweden could have sent, this is still one of 2010’s best moments. The sea of glo-sticks will be missed. 8/10
Charley: I dislike this on principle since it’s not Eric Saade, Darin, etc. The live vocals don’t make a very convincing case to change my mind. 4/10
Greg: My issue with this is how painfully average it is, especially with the other songs that Anna beat. This could have been any country’s entry. 4/10
Total: 16/30

Azerbaijan: Safura – Drip Drop
MadeInHeaven: They likely have another contender on their hands, though I veer between finding this solid and intensely irritating.  My 2010 ‘Düm Tek Tek‘. 5/10
Charley: A couple of listens in this is actually a proper pop song that could go on to be a post-Eurovision hit. 9/10
Greg: I’ve heard people say this might be a dark horse to win, and I didn’t have that feeling on my first listen, but now I see it. Very catchy. 7/10
Total: 21/30

Ukraine: Alyosha – Sweet People
MadeInHeaven: Ukraine’s great run ends here for me. There are problems in the world; I get that. But after these 3 minutes the world seems even worse. 2/10
Charley: I don’t dislike this as much as seems to be expected. Her voice is like a mix of Anouk and Natasha Bedingfield. 6/10
Greg: If the people are really as sweet as Alyosha says they are, they won’t vote for this. But any song that mentions videogames can’t be bad. 2/10
Total: 10/30

Today’s winner: Azerbaijan: Safura – Drip Drop

Check back tomorrow for part 6 of Oslo 2010 In A Tweet!

Previous parts: https://charleysayspop.wordpress.com/?s=oslo+2010+in+a+tweet

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Charley says EUROVISION! Oslo 2010 In A Tweet (5)”

  1. Thank you for the helpful posts, going to trackback. Says:

    Thank you for the helpful posts, going to trackback.

  2. As usual, great post, keep it up Says:

    Thank you very much!

Leave a Reply

