Charley says EUROVISION! Oslo 2010 In A Tweet (6)

 

Together with two of my favourite Eurovision fanatics I’ll be taking a closer look at this year’s Eurovision hopefuls. Over the next week we’ll be rating every country and we’ll give our own take on it in a tweet, i.e. in 140 characters or less.

Now, let’s meet my co-judges:

MadeInHeaven: A British resident of the Popjustice forum.
Greg Baker: Our impartial American voice of reason.

Today we’ll be taking a closer look at The Netherlands, Romania, Slovenia and Ireland.

The Netherlands: Sieneke – Ik Ben Verliefd (Sha-La-Lie)
MadeInHeaven: “I have the 1970s on the phone; they want their missing Eurovision winner back”. Good on the Netherlands for giving it a go. Will it sink? 7/10
Charley: I don’t know if it’s cause I understand the language, cause I watched the national final or cause I secretly love a good ol’ Dutch schlager. 9/10
Greg: Any song that reminds me of a carousel ride can’t be bad, right? Now I can’t get the damn “Sha-la-lee, sha-la-lie” out of my head. THANKS! 7/10
Total: 23/30

Romania: Paula Seling & Ovi – Playing With Fire
MadeInHeaven: Could be a car crash, but could be a standout performance. It’s merely adequate, but with enough distractions, nobody may notice. 6/10
Charley: I really don’t have any strong feelings about this. I hope they make one freak merged piano prop out of the two they have now though! 6/10
Greg: Hey, Romania – are you listening? Here’s what you need to do: Just send Inna to the finals, every year. Much better plan than this. 3/10
Total: 15/30

Slovenia: Ansambel Žlindra & Kalamari – Narodnozabavni Rock
MadeInHeaven: Poor Slovenia. They’ll never top that glorious cod-opera song from 2007 will they? This is diabolical on pretty much every level. 2/10
Charley: I was hoping for this to be a bit Austria 2005. Alas… 3/10
Greg: How many Narodnozabavni’s can I put in my remaining 140? Narodnozabavni Narodnozabavni Narodnozabavni Narodnozabavni Narodnozabavni. Fun! 2/10
Total: 7/30

Ireland: Niamh Kavanagh – It’s For You
MadeInHeaven: By quite some considerable way my favourite in the competition. Niamh’s vocals send this soaring, and I far prefer it to her 93 winner. 10/10
Charley: Malta and Portugal take note, this is how you do a Eurovision ballad. 8/10
Greg: As I said, I prefer my Eurovision songs uptempo, but I like this more than the other ballads this year (but I want a poppers o’clock remix). 8/10
Total: 26/30

Today’s winner: Ireland: Niamh Kavanagh – It’s For You

Check back tomorrow for part 7 of Oslo 2010 In A Tweet!

Previous parts: https://charleysayspop.wordpress.com/?s=oslo+2010+in+a+tweet

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

