Charley says EUROVISION! Oslo 2010 In A Tweet (8)

Together with two of my favourite Eurovision fanatics I’ll be taking a closer look at this year’s Eurovision hopefuls. Over the next week we’ll be rating every country and we’ll give our own take on it in a tweet, i.e. in 140 characters or less.

Now, let’s meet my co-judges:

MadeInHeaven: A British resident of the Popjustice forum.
Greg Baker: Our impartial American voice of reason.

Today we’ll be taking a closer look at the five finalists, Spain, Norway, United Kingdom, France and Germany, after the jump!

With this eight and final part of the Oslo 2010 In A Tweet Special online, you can now read all entries by clicking here.

Spain: Daniel Diges – Algo Pequeñito
MadeInHeaven: Amidst all the distractions and circus buffoonery, there’s a catchy-as-hell song in here, and one of the contest’s best singers. 8/10
Charley: I’m not saying this is a bad song, but it’s just not my thing. Can we have a Rosa or Beth comeback please? 5/10
Greg: The little boy in me that learned a new Spanish word daily while growing up wants to like this, but it’s missing a little something for me. 4/10
Total: 17/30

Norway: Didrik Solli-Tangen – My Heart Is Yours
MadeInHeaven: Alongside Ireland, the other ‘big ballad’. If he nails the vocal, it’ll take the roof off. 10/10
Charley: This is even more Andrew Lloyd Webber than the time Andrew Lloyd Webber did Eurovision! 7/10
Greg: I think the defending champs really needed to bring their A-game, and this is the same song that six other countries sent. Disappointing. 4/10
Total: 21/30

United Kingdom: Josh Dubovie – That Sounds Good To Me
MadeInHeaven: A thin, dated embarrassment, but has the benefit of being one of the few pure pop songs in the contest. And Josh is a solid singer. 6/10
Charley: Out of principle, a 0/10 for sheer laziness. Poor Josh. 0/10
Greg: When Josh asks us to “just add your laughter,” he doesn’t mean laughing at how bad this song is, right? This just does not sound good to me! 1/10
Total: 7/30

France: Jessy Matador – Allez Ola Olé
MadeInHeaven: This could easily emerge as a monster novelty hit. I’m more baffled about where this will end up on the scoreboard than anything else. 7/10
Charley: As a World Cup theme it’s perfect, but I have no idea how this will do as a Eurovision entry. 6/10
Greg: Is this the song that is basically just an ad for France’s World Cup team? It reminds me of an Eddy Wata song, which is not a bad thing. 7/10
Total: 20/30

Germany: Lena – Satelitte
MadeInHeaven: Giving her the benefit of the doubt with that hideous vocal accent, it’s about as likely a hit as I can imagine the 2010 contest producing. 8/10
Charley: I can see why people like this, but when a three minute song seems a minute too long you’re doing something wrong as far as I’m concerned. 5/10
Greg: Points for at least trying to do something different. I doubt it will place highly, but I respect the effort anyway. Bring back No Angels! 6/10
Total: 19/30

Today’s winner: Norway: Didrik Solli-Tangen – My Heart Is Yours

Oslo 2010 In A Tweet winner: Denmark: Chanée & N’evergreen – In A Moment Like This

Read all 8 parts here: https://charleysayspop.wordpress.com/?s=oslo+2010+in+a+tweet

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

