Charley says ARTIST! Daphné

This is one of those things where I wish I could go back in time and tell 12-year-old Charley to buy that single after all cause one day you’ll be wishing you had.

In 1999 a then unknown Daphné featured on Flemish boyband En Zo…’s ‘Hopeloos Verloren‘. Singer Filip D’Haeze, who is still soldiering on with other projects, does the parlando verses, while Daphné was responsible for the ‘aaah’ bits throughout the song and the gorgeous chorus. She had a perfect bubblegum pop voice and the clothes, the shoes, the hair… It was all amazingly 1999.

A year later, Daphné released her first and only solo single through Universal Belgium. From what I’ve read, ‘Thank God I’m In Love‘ is proper bubblegum pop. Unfortunately, the song flopped hard. It never charted and I don’t think I’ve ever seen or heard it on radio or tv.

Which is probably why I never bought it, something I very much regret as in hindsight this was probably the kind of thing I would have loved. And now I’ll probably never get to hear as it’s not even on YouTube.

Shame.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

