Charley says INTERVIEW! Susanna Kay (Part 2)

 

“People think what I’m doing is a little strange”

Yesterday I posted the first part of my talk with Susanna Kay, the new popstar whose ‘Off The Hook‘ is one of the best pop tunes to come out of The Netherlands this year.

Today we bring you a download for Dutch pop lovers and part two of the Susanna Kay interview where we talked about fashion, what’s next musically and Susanna’s academical research on pop!

Check out the download and part two of the interview, after the jump!

Dutch: Ook voor de originele Nederlandstalige versie van deel twee van het interview en de download kan je doorklikken!

Charley: You’re one of the few, if not the only, Dutch artist to incorporate fashion into your music in a certain way. What attracts you to that?

Susanna: Just like music fashion is a way for me to express myself. I’ve always had that. I can’t even remember my mom picking out my clothes for me, saying “You’re wearing this to school”. I always wanted to do that myself. Even my makeup and everything, I’ve done that myself since I was ten or eleven. And amazing shoes… That’s always been a way for me to express myself creatively, so it was a logical step to put that into my music and live shows.

Charley: I saw interview on Dutch TMF where you said you had a hundred pair of shoes?

Susanna: Yes, it’s crazy… My house is full of them! At a certain age your feet stop growing, so I’ve always been saving all my shoes. I’m very careful with them and I’ve got a lovely shoe closet to put them in. I also get a lot of shoes from my aunt and when my mom doesn’t need hers anymore she gives them to me. I just really love shoes, I think they’re amazing.

Charley: Rightly so! For the ‘Off The Hook’ video you had a lot of different outfits. How did you get those?

Susanna: I just follow it all in the magazines, on the internet, the latest students from the Fashion Academy… When we were planning to shoot the video I kept an eye out and found so many great young Dutch designers. I wrote to them and they all gladly helped out.

Charley: Something completely different now, I’m a student Communication Sciences…

Susanna: Oh!

Charley: And I’ve heard you’ve done that as well?

Susanna: Yes, that’s right! *laughs*

Charley: How did that come about?

Susanna: When I finished high school I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do. I wanted to do something creative, but not… I don’t know… The logical thing for me to do was to go to a university and the most creative course there is something with communication, PR, marketing, media… That’s what I wanted to do, but I always kept on singing as well. After studying and classes, in the weekends… I also worked as a singer and an actress, that was my job. My studies have always been something on the side, but I did finish them.

Charley: Is it true you wrote your thesis on launching new artists?

Susanna: I ended up getting a Masters degree in Marketing. I wrote my thesis on the factors in successfully launching an artist. There’s obviously a hundred of them, but I specifically did research on the aspect of timing.

Charley: Did you get to use any of those insights for your own music career?

Susanna: Well, the research eventually showed that timing wasn’t specifically an influence… *laughs* But I obviously mentioned my thesis to my record label and they thought it was great. For me it was… Writing a thesis isn’t anything I particularly love to do, so I though “Why not do it about something I love, being an artist?” That way I got to combine those things.

Charley: How did you end up with Sony?

Susanna: They found me! Thanks to one of those YouTube videos I got an e-mail from Tony Cornelissen, “Have you already been signed?” *laughs* That was a dream come true. I didn’t know what was happening to me! That was an amazing thing to experience.

Charley: A big label means a lot of support, but does it also bring extra pressure?

Susanna: Well, maybe a little. I was so used to doing everything myself and making my own decisions. Now everything has to be talked about and so many people have to have their say before anything gets decided. Sometimes they don’t agree on something and then I don’t understand why and then you have to talk it out. That’s something that was new to me, but we always get there in the end.

Charley: Is there anything you can tell about follow-ups to ‘Off The Hook’?

Susanna: A second single has been recorded in Sweden with Mats Valentin, ‘Pop Goes The Bottle’. It’s a great song, a lot less dance than ‘Off The Hook’ is. It’s another proper pop song with that little rock edge you were talking about. I’m not sure yet when it’ll be released, I just have my first song out. So that’s something that’s still to come and then after that there’s going to be some serious talk of an album.

Charley: Your career has properly taken off now, what are your hopes for the future?

Susanna: I hope to do a lot of performing. That’s what I love best, that’s where my focus is now. And it goes without saying that I hope my first two singles will be a success.

Charley: Is success abroad something you dream about?

Susanna: That’s obviously something you hope for, but for now I have to focus on making this a success in my own country. The Netherlands are a tough market to make it in. I notice how people think what I’m doing is a little strange and that they need some time getting used to it. The Netherlands are known for being down to earth. That’s why there’s so many popular schlager singers here. Just because they’re ‘regular’ people, if I can put it like that. If you try to be a little different, you get so much criticism. I have had so many positives comments as well, though! But for now I need to make a name for myself here first and then I hope maybe one day there’ll be international success as well.

Charley: Well, this was a start!

Susanna: Yes, this was so much fun! I also saw that there’s been written about me in the UK as well… Like op Popjustice, where you’re a moderator. The comments there were so positive. That’s where the difference is.

To convince those last few doubtful people in The Netherlands, Dutch Charley says POP! readers can text “MAIL SK [your e-mail address]” to 1008. You’ll receive ‘Off The Hook’ in your mailbox within 24 hours!

Charley: Je bent een van de weinige, misschien zelfs de enige Nederlandse artieste die op een bepaalde manier mode en het visuele in je muziek verwerkt. Wat trekt je daar precies in aan?

Susanna: Net als muziek is ook mode voor mij een uitlaatklep. Een manier… to express myself, om het maar even zo te zeggen. Dat heb ik eigenlijk altijd al gehad. Ik kan me zelfs niet herinneren dat m’n moeder ooit mijn kleding voor me uitkoos, “Dit moet je aan voor school” ofzo. Dat wou ik altijd al zelf doen. Ook m’n make-up en alles, dat deed ik al vanaf m’n tiende of elfde helemaal zelf. Ook geweldige schoenen… Dat is voor mij altijd al een vorm geweest om mij creatief te uiten. Het was voor mij dan ook een hele logische stap om dat in mijn muziek en optredens te verwerken.

Charley: Ik zag ook een interview op de Nederlandse TMF waar je zei dat je honderd paar schoenen hebt, klopt dat?

Susanna: Ja, dat is niet normaal… Je valt er over in mijn huis! Je voeten groeien niet meer na een zeker leeftijd, dus ik heb gewoon altijd mijn schoenen bewaard. Ik ben er ook heel zuinig op en ik heb er een mooi kastje voor. Ik heb bijvoorbeeld ook heel veel schoenen van m’n tante gekregen en soms wil m’n moeder haar schoenen niet meer, dan krijg ik die. Ik hou gewoon heel veel schoenen, vind ik gewoon geweldig.

Charley: Groot gelijk! Voor je clip van ‘Off The Hook’ had je ook heel wat verschillende. Hoe kom je daar dan bij?

Susanna: Ik volg het allemaal in de bladen, op internet, de nieuwe lichting van de modeacademie… Zo ook dus bij de aanloop naar deze videoclip had ik het allemaal goed in de gaten gehouden en zag ik hele goede jonge Nederlandse ontwerpers voorbijkomen. Die heb ik dan gewoon aangeschreven en zij wouden allemaal heel graag meewerken.

Charley: Iets volledig anders nu, ikzelf ben student Communicatiewetenschappen…

Susanna: Oh!

Charley: En ik heb gehoord dat jij dat ook gedaan hebt?

Susanna: Ja, dat klopt! *lacht*

Charley: Hoe ben je daar bij gekomen?

Susanna: Op een gegeven moment was ik klaar met het atheneum… Is dat ook in België?

Charley: Iets dergelijks.

Susanna: Toen was ik er nog niet helemaal uit wat ik wilde doen. Ik wilde iets creatiefs, maar ook weer niet… Ja, ik weet niet… De logische stap was voor mij naar een universiteit gaan en de meest creatieve universitaire richting die er is, is toch wel iets met communicatie, PR, marketing, media… Dat wou ik heel graag doen, maar ik ben daarnaast altijd met zingen bezig gebleven. Na de studies en colleges, ook in het weekend… Ik werkte ook als zangeres en actrice, dat was mijn job. Mijn studie is eigenlijk altijd iets geweest wat er naast stond, maar ik heb het wel afgemaakt.

Charley: Klopt het dan ook dat je je thesis geschreven hebt over het lanceren van artiesten?

Susanna: Ik heb uiteindelijk een Master Marketing gedaan. Mijn thesis heb ik geschreven over de succesfactoren bij de lancering van een artiest. Er zijn er natuurlijk wel honderd, maar ik heb dan specifiek ingezoomd op het aspect timing.

Charley: Heb je daar dan zelf iets voor kunnen gebruiken in je eigen muziekcarrière?

Susanna: Nou, uiteindelijk kwam uit het onderzoek dat timing niet specifiek van invloed is… *lacht* Maar ik heb natuurlijk wel met mijn platenmaatschappij het er over gehad en ze vonden het super leuk. Het was voor mij wel… Het schrijven van een scriptie is nu niet iets wat ik bepaald heel leuk vind ofzo, dus dan kan ik het maar beter doen over iets waar mijn hart ligt, het artiest zijn. Zo heb ik die dingen toch kunnen combineren.

Charley: Hoe ben je dan uiteindelijk bij Sony terechtgekomen?

Susanna: Die hebben mij gevonden! Dankzij een van die filmpjes op YouTube kreeg ik een mailtje van Tony Cornelissen, “Ben je al getekend?” *lacht* Dat was echt een dream come true. Ik wist niet wat ik meemaakte! Dat was gewoon echt zo vet, heel leuk om mee te maken.

Charley: Een grote platenmaatschappij kan voor erg veel steun zorgen, maar geeft het ook extra druk?

Susanna: Nouja, misschien een beetje. Ik ben heel erg gewend geweest aan altijd alles zelf te doen en echt zelf m’n beslissingen te nemen. Nu moet natuurlijk alles overlegd worden en langs heel veel schakels passeren voor er een akkoord is. Soms zijn ze het dan ergens niet mee eens en dan begrijp ik niet waarom en dan moet je overleggen… Dat is wel iets nieuws dat er bij is gekomen, maar we komen er altijd wel uit hoor.

Charley: Is er al concreet zicht op opvolgers voor ‘Off The Hook’?

Susanna: Er is sowieso een tweede single opgenomen in Zweden met Mats Valentin, ‘Pop Goes The Bottle’. Echt een heel erg leuk nummer, veel minder dance dan ‘Off The Hook’ is. Echt weer een popnummer met toch dat rockrandje waar jij het over had, ook een heel catchy refrein. Ik weet natuurlijk nog niet wanneer dat gereleased wordt, want ik ben natuurlijk net met m’n eerste single uitgekomen. Dat komt dus later en daarna gaan we serieuzer praten over een album.

Charley: Je carrière is nu echt uit de startblokken, wat hoop je voor de komende tijd?

Susanna: Ik hoop heel veel te mogen optreden. Dat vind ik echt het allerleukste om te doen, daar ligt de focus nu. En dat het natuurlijk ook een groot succes gaat worden nu met mijn eerste singles.

Charley: Hoop je ook op het buitenland?

Susanna: Natuurlijk hoop je daar op, maar ik moet nu eerst focussen op mijn eigen land om dat een succes te maken. Nederland is echt lastig om het in te maken. Ik merk wel dat sommige mensen het een beetje raar vinden wat ik doe en dat ze er even aan moeten wennen. Nederland staat heel erg bekend voor “Doe maar gewoon, dan doe je al gek genoeg”. Daarom heb je hier ook heel wat populaire volkszangers. Net omdat zij dus “gewoon” zijn, zeg maar. Als je dan een beetje anders probeert te zijn, krijg je meteen heel wat kritiek over je heen. Natuurlijk kreeg ik ook heel wat leuke reacties! Maar ik moet hier toch eerst echt voet aan de grond krijgen en daarna hoop ik natuurlijk ook op het buitenland.

Charley: Bij deze al een eerste start!

Susanna: Ja, ik vind het super leuk! Ik zag ook dat er in de UK over me geschreven is… Inderdaad ook op Popjustice, waar jij moderator bent. Daar waren de reacties dus heel positief. Dan merk je dus wel het verschil.

Om de laatste twijfelaars over de streep te trekken, kunnen Nederlandse lezers van Charley says POP! een SMS sturen naar 1008 met de boodschap “MAIL SK [jouw e-mailadres]”. Je krijgt ‘Off The Hook’ dan binnen 24 uur in je mailbox!

See also: Charley says INTERVIEW! Susanna Kay
See also:
Charley says VIDEO! Susanna Kay – Off The Hook

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

