Charley says COVER! I’m In Love

When listening to 2009 Eurovision winner Alexander Rybak’s new album ‘No Boundaries’ you might stumble upon a song that sounds familiar.

Most of you may know ‘I’m In Love’ as a Fabrizio Faniello track. The Maltese 2001 Eurovision entry had a bit of an international hit with the song  in 2004.

However, the original and my personal favourite version was done by John The Whistler all the way back in 2000. The man behind this project was Umberto Carli. He was born in Africa and apparently moved to Belgium at one point. An album called ‘It’s Crazy’ was released, but ‘I’m In Love’ seems to be his only big hit. The most recent thing I could find on him was a participation at Cyprus’ 2006 national Eurovision final.

Alexander Rybak’s version strangely leaves out the whistling, replacing it with some female backing vocals. I’m not particularly fond of his version, although that could also be because I’m still trying to figure out whether I think his ‘Oah‘ video is unnervingly incredible or just incredibly unnerving.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

